Statistics regarding driving under the influence of alcohol in West Virginia are alarming. The state has nearly doubled the national rate of fatalities caused by accidents in which at least one driver had a blood alcohol level over the legal limit. The worst statistics are in the ages raging between 21 and 34, according to data from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control. It’s no wonder that someone charged with this offense needs an experienced DUI lawyer in Martinsburg, WV, since the state takes the charge very seriously.
West Virginia residents seem to be somewhat unaware of their own culpability in this matter. When a survey is conducted to ask people whether they have driven after drinking too much alcohol in the past 30 days, the percentage nationally who admit to this is nearly twice as high as that of West Virginia residents. A person who faces a first-time charge of DUI must become dedicated to never allowing this situation to happen again. The ignition interlock requirement for all convicted DUI offenders helps stop people from driving after drinking, but determined individuals do find ways around this. For now, however, this individual needs a DUI lawyer in Martinsburg, WV to prevent the worst legal consequences from occurring.
In West Virginia, as in other states, judges have some latitude regarding the penalties they impose for a DUI conviction. They are required to at least sentence the person to the state’s minimum penalties, but they can impose much harsher penalties if they so choose. For the first DUI offense, a judge can sentence the person to six months in jail and a fine of $1,000. Often, skilled lawyers such as Bottner & Skillman. Attorneys at Law make all the difference in the type of penalty a person receives.
It’s critical for each person to refrain from drinking and driving again in the future. Even without consideration of how serious alcohol-related collisions can be, legal penalties in West Virginia are very stringent for repeat offenders. The minimum jail sentence for a second conviction is six months, and the driver’s license is suspended for a full year.